The Complete Guide to Managing Ghost's Multi-User Support

This post will have everything you need to know about what the different users are, how to invite users, revoke invites, delete users, change permissions, and change the blog Ownership. We will start with explaining the different roles for the users and go from there.

User Roles


The role of Owner is given to the first user that is created when the blog is initially created. The role of owner has permissions to perform any activity on the blog that they wish. The owner is a user that cannot be deleted but it is able to be transferred to a different user. If you are running a company blog, the Owner role would be great for a departmental email address. An email that is not bound to one person so you can add and subtract users as needed without needing to transfer who the owner is all the time.


Administrator has all the same roles as Owner, as in they they have full control over the blog. The only real difference between the Owner and the Administrator is that Administrators can be demoted to other roles, or deleted as needed.


A user with the Author role only has access to the content on the blog. They are able to create new posts, or edit any existing posts, but are not able to make any settings or user changes. Anything that has to do with content, they have free rein to touch, but nothing else.


The editor has access to all of the content of the blog as well as the ability to invite new authors to join. That is the main difference as of right now. Multi-user support is going to be an amazing step forward for Ghost because it give the ability for companies to have some control over their access. The ability to add, subtract, and change user roles is done very well and is extremely easy to manage. There are a lot of people who have been waiting for this feature and I think they are going to be very happy.

Inviting Users

  1. First off, once you have logged into your Ghost admin backend, in order to get to the Users page, click on "Team".
    Team Page
  2. You can see that we currently have 1 user. I named that user "Original Owner". This user is either the user you just created with a new Ghost install, or the user you had before upgrading. This user is the Owner user and has full control over the blog.
  3. In order to invite a new user, click on the "Invite People" button on the top.
    Invite People Button
  4. This will pop up a dialog box where you can enter in the email address of the user, and what permissions you wish to give that user. I am going to create 3 users, one Admin, one Editor, and one Author. Each invite will send an email to that user and they can sign up to create their account.
    Invite User Dialog Invited Team
  5. And there you have it! I have invited one of each user. Next is how to change their permissions:

Change Permissions

  1. In order to change a user's permissions, click on that user to go to their user page.
  2. Scroll down a little bit till you see "Role:"
  3. Click on the dropdown and choose which new role you want the user to have.
    User Role Dialog

The only thing you are not able to change this way is who is the Owner of the blog. Here is how to change the Owner:

Change Owner

Each blog has exactly one Owner user. The user who creates the blog is automatically selected as the Owner user. The Owner user can never be deleted and is considered the "Super User" of the blog. As you add more users, you may want to change which user is the Owner. Here is how you can do that:

  1. You have to be logged in as the Owner in order to transfer ownership. So, make sure you are logged in as the current Owner.
  2. In order to make a user an Owner, they have to already be an Administrator. You cannot make an Editor or an Author an Owner. You first have to make them an Admin and then make them an Owner.
  3. Click on the administrator you would like to make the owner to go to their user page.
  4. Click on the cog icon in the top right, and click "Make Owner"
    Owner Dialog
  5. The ownership as been transferred!
  6. Now, if you want to transfer the ownership back, this can only be done by the owner themselves. So, you would have to switch logins to the new owner to change it back.